Skip to main content

Flaming Award

The Flaming Award is presented by MSHA each year to the top Minnesota American Saddlebred horse with a 13 and under rider. The award is based on points earned in the Show Pleasure, Country Pleasure and the Open Pleasure divisions. The recipient of this award receives two trophies, a keepsake trophy, as well as the perpetual Flaming Memorial Trophy.

Judy Oleson created the Flaming Award in memory of her first horse. The Minnesota Saddlebred Horse Association presented the first Flaming Award at the MSHA Annual Banquet in 1996.

Flaming showed in Minnesota from her arrival here in 1980 through 1994. She carried all her riders successfully in many divisions, mostly pleasure and equitation, but she especially enjoyed her young riders.

Flaming was a big-hearted and generous American Saddlebred mare who allowed her owners and riders the opportunity to learn and experience the thrill of showing horses. It takes a special horse to take a young rider into the wonderful world of horse shows.

Congratulations to Chloe Meche and Nirvana's Big Shot for winning the 2022 Flaming Award!


Recipients of the Flaming Award

2022: Nirvana's Big Shot and Chloe Meche

2021: Reedann's Wild Heir and Aveyda Arneson

2020: Santa Monica Kiss and Elle Johnson

2019: Ro & Me's Fahren Heit and Pieper Christiaansen

2018: I'm All Show and Ava Miller

2017: The Wiccan and Ava Girton

2016: Ciao Bello Mio and Annie Ayotte

2015: Prodigy's Pride and Julia Roedel

2014: Takin' It To The Street and Morgan Mulligan

2013: CF Knight At The Castle and Cecilia Ball

2012: Bella La Donna and Morgan Mulligan

2011: He's My Boco Ratan and Christina Laridaen

2010: He's My Boco Ratan and Taryn Osthoff

2009: Chillante' and Kendall Otto

2008: Smith and Wesson and Cameron Gallenberg

2005, 2006, 2007: Angelina Ballerina and Cameron Gallenberg

2004: (Tied) Rainbow's Rembrandt and Emily Collins, Out Of Range and Anne Hart

2003: Out Of Range and Anne Hart

2002: I'm Fit To Be Tied and Deanna Lanigan

2001: Out Of Range and Katie Kampmeyer

2000: Legal Status and Ashlinn Thomas

1999: Callaway's Carma and Mallory Bernsteen

1998: Sultan's Lady Gale and Addie Jo Bohr

1997: Rad and Jessica Timmington

1996: Out Of Range and Megan McGuire 

Congratulations to Ava Miller and I’m All Show for winning the 2018 Flaming Award!

Judy Oleson and Flaming